Apr 23, 2020 • 1HR 12M

Ridley Me This

21
12
 
1.0×
0:00
-1:11:37
Open in playerListen on);
In “The Remnant," Jonah Goldberg, the founder and editor-in-chief of The Dispatch, syndicated columnist, best-selling author, and AEI/NRI Fellow enlists a “Cannonball Run”-style cast of stars, has-beens, and never-weres to address the most pressing issues of the day and of all-time. Is Western Civilization doomed? Is nationalism the wave of the future? Is the Pope Catholic? Will they ever find a new place to put cheese on a pizza? Is Die Hard a Christmas movie? Who is hotter: Ginger or Mary-Ann? Was Plato really endorsing the Republic as the ideal state? Mixing history, pop culture, rank-punditry, political philosophy, and, at times, shameless book-plugging, Goldberg and guests will have the kinds of conversations we wish they had on cable-TV shout shows. And the nudity will (almost) always be tasteful.
Episode details
12 comments

How does technological innovation actually happen? We were able to speak to Matt Ridley, who has literally written the (upcoming) book on this subject, How Innovation Works. Matt brings up fascinating points, such as whether or not innovation really relies on “great men” miraculously coming up with brilliant ideas, why we are often resistant to new technology, and how we can get out of our current innovation slump, a product of our cultural risk-aversion. And tune in to see where he places on the ranking of Most British People Ever (™).


Show Notes:

-GLoP Live 2: God save us all

Members of The Dispatch are invited to join the GLoP live broadcast on

Sunday, April 26th at 6PM ET/5PM CT/3PM PT

-How Innovation Works - preorder now

-I, Pencil, yet again

-Kelly’s What Technology Wants

-Harris’ novel, The Second Sleep

-Matt’s bat facts

-Remnant with Vin Cannato

-ExpressVPN.com/REMNANT for 3 free months


See omnystudio.com/listener for privacy information.